Iowa Dental CE – Infection Control and Continuing Education Courses

Iowa Dental Board Approved Online Independent Study Course – Approvals
__________________________________________________________________________________

Iowa Dental Infection ControlInfection Control for Dental Professionals – 2 Hours (Mandatory)
Curriculum: Click Here
Printable (pdf) Certificate
$25
AGD PACE Dental CEManagement of Medical Emergencies in a Dental Clinic – 3 Hours Course Curriculum: Click Here
Printable (pdf) Certificate
$30
Substance Abuse Chemical DependencySubstance Abuse – Chemical Dependency – 3 Hours
Course Curriculum: Click Here
Printable (pdf) Certificate
$30
Impact of Tobacco on Oral HealthImpact of Tobacco on Oral Health & Smoking Cessation – 3 Hours
Course Curriculum: Click Here
Printable (pdf) Certificate
$30
Pain Management in DentistryPain Management in Dentistry – 2 Hours
Course Curriculum: Click Here
Printable (pdf) Certificate
$20
Prescription DrugsProper Prescribing, Medical Errors Prevention, Safe Drug Disposal 2 Hrs
Course Curriculum: Click Here
Printable (pdf) Certificate
$25
HIV HIV/AIDS for Dental Healthcare Professionals – 2 Hours
Course Curriculum: Click Here
Printable (pdf) Certificate
$20
Hepatitis InfectionHepatitis Infection – Implications in Dental Practice – 3 Hours
Course Curriculum: Click Here
Printable (pdf) Certificate
$25

Iowa Dental Board’s Continuing Education Regulations: Law requires members of every licensed or regulated health profession to obtain continuing education in order to renew the authorization to practice their profession. (Iowa Code Chapter 272C) Consequently, the Dental Board requires all licensed dentists, dental hygienists, and registered dental assistants to obtain continuing education. Dental Assistants are required to complete 2 hours of infection control course every 2 years. For more information about Dental Board’s Continuing Education requirements, please visit Iowa Dental Board’s Continuing Education Page.

Dentists and Dental Hygienists: 30 Hours required every 2 years

CPR Required for renewal – can claim   up to 3 hours for completing course. Online/homestudy CPR cerficiation   courses are not acceptable for renewal or continuing education.
Abuse Identification and Reporting   Training Within 6 months of employment and   every 5 years thereafter – credit can be claimed for completing courses.
Sedation 6 hours for persons with a deep   sedation/general anesthesia or conscious sedation permit

 

Dental Assistants: 20 Hours    required every 2 years
CPR Required for renewal – can claim   up to 3 hours for completing course.
Abuse Identification and Reporting   Training Within 6 months of employment and   every 5 years thereafter – credit can be claimed for completing courses.
Infection Control 2 hours
Dental Radiology 2 hours for dental assistants with   an added qualification in dental radiography.

The general rule of thumb is that any course related to clinical practice is acceptable. Courses that are approved for dentists and hygienists are also approved for dental assistants. Other acceptable subjects are patient record keeping, risk management, communication, and OSHA regulations. The Board has determined that courses relating to HIPAA regulations and courses about Iowa jurisprudence, which have been prior-approved by the Board are acceptable.

Credit is also awarded for attending annual dental conventions or taking postgraduate study relating to health sciences (if you take a health related course at a community college for example).

LoadingUpdating...