Florida Human Trafficking for Massage Therapists course will provide a basic overview of human trafficking (e.g., the scope, definitions and frameworks, contributing factors, different forms). The course will attempt to provide massage therapists a glimpse of the lives of human trafficking victims, including physical, psychological, social, and sexual abuse that human trafficking victims experience and the types of control tactics perpetrators use. Specific interventions and responses will be covered, including mental health, social services, educational, prevention, and legal efforts.
Upon completion of this course (Human Trafficking for Massage Therapists), you will be able to learn:
- Define human trafficking
- Identify the forms of human trafficking
- List general categories of perpetrators and red-flag terms in recruitment ads
- List signs and identifiers of victims
- Summarize the impact of human trafficking on the massage profession
- List potential solutions in the massage therapy industry
- List and locate Victim Resources
Contact Hours : 2 Hours (Minimum 1 Hour Required)
Method of Instruction: Online Independent Self-Study Course (Training + Post-Test). Requires Computer & Internet.
Course Format: Non-Interactive
Course Completion Certificate : A Printable (PDF) Certificate By Email.
Cost: $10 / Participant
Florida Massage Therapy Boards’ Mandatory Human Trafficking CE Requirement (Click Here): Each licensee or certificate holder shall complete a board-approved, 1 hour continuing education course on human trafficking. The course may be included in the total general hours required and must be completed by January 1, 2021. Required in accordance with Section 456.0341, Florida Statutes.*Note: The 1 hour of Human Trafficking is included in the required general hours.
Florida Board of Massage Therapy Approval (CE Broker # 50-20979, Tracking # 20-696768). CE Broker Reporting Within 24 Hours.
NCBTMB CEUs: 2.0 – Category: General
Florida Board Board of Massage Therapy Required Mandatory CE Hours: Click Here
The legislation also requires that new Massage Establishments have a Designated Establishment Manager (or DEM) starting July 1, 2019 and that all Massage Establishments, regardless of the time the license was issued, have one no later than January 1, 2020 Chapter 2019-152, Laws of Florida, also amended the provisions governing when the Board shall take disciplinary action against a Massage Establishment’s license. Finally, Massage Establishments are required to implement a procedure for reporting suspected human trafficking by January 1, 2021 and have a sign outlining that procedure posted in their establishment.