This course (Pennsylvania Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting in accordance with ACT 31 of 2014) is developed to better prepare healthcare and non-healthcare professionals who are considered mandated reporter to recognize and report child abuse, child maltreatment, and child neglect.
Upon completion of this course, you will be able to learn:
- Describe child abuse and neglect reported to child protective services agencies in the United States and Pennsylvania.
- Describe child welfare in Pennsylvania.
- Differentiate between Child Protective Services (CPS) and General Protective Services (GPS).
- Define child abuse components, categories, and exclusions.
- Recognize indicators of physical abuse, mental abuse, sexual abuse, trafficking, physical neglect, and abandonment of an infant.
- List provisions and responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse.
- Explain the mandated reporters’ Right-to-Know.
- Recognizing and responding to victims’ disclosures.
- List health care provider’s responsibility of mandatory notification of substance exposed infants (act 54 of 2018 update)
- List penalties for failure to report (act 88 of 2019 update)
- Identify the reporting process for suspected child abuse, including protections for reporters and penalties for failure to report.
Contact Hours: 3 Hours
Fee: $20 / Participant
Authors: Steven Leonard, Ph.D., MSW, LICSW, Kathy Harkins, BS, MSW, Juanita Holliman, RN, BSN, MSN, PhD
Activity Type: Knowledge-Based Home Study
Instructional Methods: Online Independent Self-Study (Training + Post-Test)
Target Audience: Mandated Reports, Healthcare/Non-Healthcare Professionals, and Funeral Directors
Approved By: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services and Pennsylvania Department of State (DOS) – Approval
Pennsylvania Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting CE Provider Number: CACE000073
Program Number: CAPR000071 | CE Course #: BS000002
Reporting to Pennsylvania Department of State (DOS)/Board: Biologix Solutions submit attendance/participation records electronically to Pennsylvania Department of State (DOS) Licensing System within 24 hours (daily electronic reporting) of completion.
Course Completion Certificate : A minimum passing score of 70% is required for course completion. A Printable (PDF) Certificate By Email.
Cancellation / Refund Policy: By completing your purchase from Biologix Solutions LLC through PayPal, you agree that you are purchasing digital, non-tangible product / service / training courses, and as such are not entitled to a refund once accessed. If you have any questions, please feel to contact us by phone or email before purchasing online course.
AGD PACE Subject Code: 155 – Child Abuse Identification & Reporting
The following Boards have indicated that they will allow licensees who complete a three (3) hour DHS approved course to apply the one (1) additional hour of the three hour course to meet the child abuse and/or Board required continuing education requirements for renewal. The 1 additional hour that will be accepted must be completed as part of one 3 hour course and cannot be a combination of separately completed child abuse recognition and reporting courses.
- State Board of Chiropractic
- State Board of Funeral Directors
- State Board of Massage Therapy
- State Board of Nursing
- State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrator
- State Board of Occupational Therapy
- State Board of Optometry
- State Board of Pharmacy
- State Board of Physical Therapy
- State Board of Psychology
- State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors
- State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
The following Boards have indicated that they will NOT allow licensees to utilize more than 2 hours of child abuse recognition and reporting coursework towards the Board’s continuing education requirements for renewal:
- State Board of Dentistry
- State Board of Medicine
- State Board of Osteopathic Medicine
- State Board of Podiatry
Pennsylvania ACT 31 (for both initial licensure and renewal) applies to all health-related licensees and funeral directors, regardless of whether they are subject to the continuing education requirements of their applicable Board. Initial licenses will not be issued and a license will not be renewed until the requirements under Act 31 have been met.
The new law applies to all health-related licensees and funeral directors, regardless of whether they feel that they come into contact with children in their profession or not. Applicants and licensees must still complete the requirements under Act 31. Requests for this type of exemption will not be considered a valid reason for exemption.